2019 Herald Sun Aria winner Georgia Wilkinson from Melbourne

The Herald Sun Aria in partnership with Melbourne Opera

$60,000 in Prize Money*

Heat 1 & 2 – Friday 10th September 2021

Semi-Finals – Saturday 11th September 2021

Grand-Final – October TBC

Venue: Heats & Semi Finals -TBC
Grand Final- TBC

Entries Open – 17th March
Entries Close – 23rd June at 3pm



Herald Sun Aria Schedule 2021

The Herald Sun Aria, established in 1924, is Australia’s oldest and most prestigious prize for emerging classical singers. 2021 sees the Herald Sun Aria enter its 4th year with Melbourne Opera as their official partner.

Widely regarded as the nation’s most prestigious competition for emerging opera singers, the Aria offers nearly $60,000 in cash prizes to enrich the training of our brightest talent. Entries must be aged between 19 – 36 years of age for this wonderful competition.

A night of opera – watch the drama and anticipation unfurl as five finalists compete against each other accompanied by the Melbourne Opera Orchestra under the baton of Greg Hocking.

The finalists will perform two Aria each, giving the audience an insight into various world operas as well as a night of sophisticated exhilaration. Master of Ceremonies, ABC’s Christopher Lawrence, will give a brief synopsis of each Aria. Also performing will music and voice students from the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School.

With $60,000 in cash prizes available, each finalist will be sure to give an award winning performance, one that will ensure they have the opportunity to go on to perform on the world stage.

*Prize money for 2021 is still under review.

Presented by Herald Sun in partnership with Melbourne Opera

Winner – $35,000

The Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Prize – $10,000

The Richard Divall Prize – $10,000

Other finalists – $1,500

Semi finalists that don’t get in the final will receive $200 each.

In 2021 the Herald Sun Aria celebrates 97 years of launching the international careers of many well-known singers, including: Dame Malvina Major (1964) Dame Kiri Te Kanawa 1965), Jonathon Summers (1973), Judith Henley (1976), Roger Lemke (1985), Jason Wasley (1993), and Rachelle Durkin (2000)

Herald Sun Aria